Overview of the City

Manila is the capital city of the Philippines. It is located in Luzon – the biggest island. The city occupies an area of 38.55 square kilometers. It is bounded by the west by the Manila Bay. It is part of the Metro Manila or National Capital Region composed on 16 cities and 1 municipality.

The city is divided into 897 barangays. Each barangay has its own chairperson and 7 councilors. For administrative convenience, all the barangays in Manila are grouped into 100 zones and which are further grouped into 16 administrative districts. 

The city has six representatives popularly elected to the House of Representatives, a legislative branch of the Philippines. Each representative represents one of the six Congressional districts of Manila.



The City’s Official Seal

The shield on which the various images are emblazoned and which carry the nations colors signifies the valor, the blood and the idealism with which Manila’s forcers fought against invasion.

 The circular band around the shield declares the seal to that of Manila, Philippines.

 The six stars represent the six congressional districts into which the city is divided and governed the circle.

The beautiful pearl embedded in the shell symbolizes the character of Manila, a city that has transformed to hundred divergent cultures collected over the centuries from nationalities who landed on her shore into something essentially Filipino.

The sea lion, en garde, stands for the authority of the City Government – protective and defensive of Manila’s people & territory.

The waves of alternating azure and argent portray the Pasig River – a most important landmark whose length and path throughout the city chronicle the beginnings and the progress of Manila’s commerce & industry.


Tanging Lungsod naming mahal
Tampok ng Silanganan
Patungo sa kaunlaran At kaligayahan
Nasa kanya ang pangarap, Dunong, lakas, pag-unlad
Ang Maynila’y tanging Perlas Ng Bayan ngayo’t bukas
MAYNILA, O, MAYNILA Dalhin mo ang Bandila
At itanghal itong Bansa.

  •     Acapulco, Mexico
        Astana, Kazakhstan
        Bangkok, Thailand
        Beijing, China
        Bucharest, Romania
        Cartagena, Colombia
        Guangzhou, China
        Haifa, Israel
        Havana, Cuba
        Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
        Honolulu, United States
        Incheon, South Korea
        Jakarta, Indonesia
        Jersey City, United States
        Lima, Peru
        Lyon, France
        Madrid, Spain
        Malaga, Spain
        Maui County, United States
        Mexico City, Mexico
        Montreal, Canada
        Moscow, Russia
        New Delhi, India
        Nice, France
        Osaka, Japan
        Sacramento, United States
        San Francisco, United States
        Santiago, Chile
        Seberang Perai, Malaysia
        Taichung, Taiwan
        Taipei, Taiwan
        Takatsuki, Japan
        Tehran, Iran
        Winnipeg, Canada
        Yokohama, Japan

    Friendly Location:
        Busan, South Korea
        Shanghai, China
        Xi’an, China

    Local City:
        Cebu City, Philippines
        Davao City, Philippines

Manila City Map